Name:Germany (Federal Republic of Germany)
Local name (German):Deutschland (Bundesrepublik Deutschland)
Bordering countries:Denmark, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxemburg, France, Switzerland, Austria, Czechia, Poland
Status:sovereign state
Surface:357 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):82 398 ths.
Official language:German
Administrative divisions:16 states

Current national symbols

Administrative divisions and regional symbols

Historical symbols:
Holy Roman Empire of German Nation (962-1806)
French hegemony in Germany (1806-1813)
German states in 1814-1866 (German Union)
German states in 1866-1871 (North German Union)
German Empire (1871-1918)
Weimar Republic (1918-1933)
Third Reich (1933-1945)
Occupied Germany (1945-1949)
Divided Germany (1949-1990)
German Democratic Republic (1949-1990)
Federal Republic of Germany
United German Olympic team (1956-1964)

Unofficial local symbols

Ethnic minorities

European Union

Main index