Name:France (French Republic)
Local name (French):France (République Française)
Bordering countries:Spain, Andorra, Belgium, Luxemburg, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Monaco
Status:sovereign state
Surface:547 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):60 181 ths.
Official language:French
Administrative divisions:22 regions

Current national symbols

Administrative divisions and regional symbols

Historical symbols:
Kingdom (until 1792)
1st Republic (1792-1804)
1st Empire (1804-1814)
Restoration (1814-1830)
July Monarchy (1830-1848)
2nd Republic (1848-1852)
2nd Empire (1852-1870)
3rd Republic (1870-1940)
French State / Resistance movement (1940-1944)
4th Republic (1944-1959)
5th Republic (since 1959)

Separatist symbols

French overseas departments and territories

European Union

Main index