Name:Austria (Republic of Austria)
Local name (German):Österreich (Republik Österreich)
Bordering countries:Italy, Slovenia, Hungary, Slovakia, Czechia, Germany, Switzerland, Liechtenstein
Status:sovereign state
Surface:83.9 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):8 188 ths.
Capital:Vienna (Wien)
Official language:German
Administrative divisions:9 federal states

Current national symbols

Administrative divisions and regional symbols

Historical symbols:
Austrian Empire (until 1918)
Austro-Hungarian Empire (1867-1918): See Austro-Hungary
Republic of Austria (1919-1934)
Austrian Federal State (1934-1938)

European Union

Main index