Name:Netherlands (Kingdom of the Netherlands)
Local name (Dutch):Nederland (Koninkrijk der Nederlanden)
Bordering countries:Belgium, Germany
Status:sovereign state
Surface:41.5 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):16 151 ths.
Capitals:Amsterdam - royal residence
The Hague ('s-Gravenhage) - government and parliament residence
Official language:Dutch
Administrative divisions:12 provinces

Current national symbols

Administrative divisions and regional symbols

Historical symbols:
Republic of the United Provinces (1589-1795)
Batavian Republic under French protectorate (1795-1805)
Kingdom of Holland under French protectorate (1805-1810)
Kingdom of the Netherlands (since 1815)

Netherlands overseas dependencies:
Netherlands Antilles

European Union

Main index