Name:Russia (Russian Federation)
Local name (Russian):Россия (Российская Федерация)
Bordering countries:Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Belorussia, Ukraine, Abkhazia, South Ossetia, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, China, Korea
Status:sovereign state
Surface:17 075.2 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):145 164 ths.
Capital:Moscow (Москва)
Official language:Russian
Administrative divisions:2 federally administered cities, 6 marches, 49 regions, 21 republics, 1 autonomous region, 10 autonomous districts; divisions grouped in 7 federal districts

Current national symbols

Administrative divisions and regional symbols

Historical symbols:
Muscovy (XIV-XVII c.)
Russian Empire (1689-1917)
Provisional Government (1917)
Civil war (1917-1922)
Russian Soviet Federal Socialist Republic (1917-1991)
Russian Federation (since 1991)
Historical local symbols

Ethnic and separatist symbols

Commonwealth of Independent States   Soviet Union

Main index