Name:China (People's Republic of China)
Local name (Chinese):中国 (中華人民共和国)
Bordering countries:Korea, Russia, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Kirghizia, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Nepal, Bhutan, Burma, Laos, Vietnam
Status:sovereign state
Surface (incl. Hong Kong and Macao, excl. Taiwan):9 598.1 ths. sq. km
Population (2003, incl. Hong Kong and Macao, excl. Taiwan):1 294 840 ths.
Capital:Peking (北京)
Official language:Chinese

Current national symbols

Historical symbols:
Great Ching Empire (1644-1912)
Republic of China - military governments (1912-1928)
Republic of China - Kuomintang government (1928-1949)
Manchu-Kuo (1932-1945)

Special administrative regions:
Hong Kong

Ethnic and separatist symbols

Main index