Name:India (Republic of India)
Local name (Hindi):भारत (भारतीय गणराज्य)
Bordering countries:Bangladesh, Burma, Bhutan, Nepal, China (incl. Tibet), Afghanistan, Pakistan
Status:sovereign state
Surface:3 287.6 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):1 049 700 ths.
Capital:Delhi (दिल्ली)
Official languages:Hindi, English
Administrative divisions:28 states, 7 union territories

Current national symbols

Regional and separatist symbols

Historical symbols:
Great Moghul Empire (1526-1858)
British India (1765-1947)
Portuguese dependencies in India

Ethnic and religious minorities

The Commonwealth

Main index