Name:Finland (Republic of Finland)
Local name (Finnish):Suomi (Suomen Tasavalta)
Local name (Swedish):Finland (Republiken Finland)
Bordering countries:Russia, Norway, Sweden
Status:sovereign state
Surface:337 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):5 191 ths.
Capital:Helsinki (Helsinki / Helsinfors)
Official languages:Finnish, Swedish

Current national symbols

Regional symbols

Historical symbols:
Grand Duchy of Finland in the Russian Empire (1809-1917)
Finland in the making of independence (1917-1918)
Kingdom of Finland (1918-1919)
Republic of Finland (since 1919)

Ethnic minorities

European Union

Main index