Name:South Africa (Republic of South Africa)
Local name (Afrikaans):Suid-Afrika (Republiek van Suid-Afrika)
Local name (other official languages):See
Bordering countries:Lesotho, Swaziland, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia
Status:sovereign state
Surface:1 219.9 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):42 769 ths.
Official languages:English, Afrikaans, Venda, Zulu, Xhosa, Ndebele, Pedi, Sotho, Swazi, Tswana, Tsonga
Administrative divisions:9 provinces

Current national symbols

Administrative divisions and regional symbols

Historical symbols:
Afrikander (Boer) republics (1839-1902):
Orange Free State
South African Republic (Transvaal)
Other Boer republics
British dependencies in South Africa (1814-1910)
Union of South Africa (1910-1961)
Republic of South Africa (1961-1994)
Former bantustans (homelands)

African Union The Commonwealth

Main index