Name:Zimbabwe (Republic of Zimbabwe)
Former name:South Rhodesia – until 1980
Bordering countries:Zambia, Botswana, South Africa, Mozambique
Status:sovereign state
Surface:390.6 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):12 577 ths.
Official language:English

Current national symbols

Historical symbols:
British South Rhodesia (until 1965, formally until 1980)
Federation of Rhodesia and Nysaland (1953-1963)
Self-proclaimed independent South Rhodesia (1965-1980):
Dominion of Rhodesia (1965-1970)
Republic of Rhodesia (1970-1979)
Republic of Zimbabwe-Rhodesia (1979)
Republic of Zimbabwe (since 1980)

African Union   The Commonwealth

Main index