Name:Ethiopia (Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia)
Local name (Amharic):ኢትዮጵያ (የኢትዮጵያ፡ ፌዴራላዊ፡ ዲሞክራሲያዊ፡ ሪፐብሊክ)
Former name:Abyssinia
Bordering countries:Eritrea, Sudan, Kenya, Somalia, Djibouti
Status:sovereign state
Surface:1 127.1 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):66 558 ths.
Capital:Addis Ababa (አዲስ፡ አበባ)
Official language:Amharic
Administrative divisions:9 national states, 2 federal cities

Current national symbols

Administrative divisions and regional symbols

Historical symbols:
Ethiopian (Abyssinian) Empire (until 1974)
Socialist Ethiopia (1974-1987)
People's Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (1987-1991)
Interim Government of Ethiopia (1991-1996)

Separatist symbols

African Union

Main index