Name:Djibouti (Republic of Djibouti)
Local name (French):Djibouti (République de Djibouti)
Local name (Arabic):(ﻲﺗﻮﺒﻴﺟ ﺔﻳﺭﻮﻬﻤﺟ) ﻲﺗﻮﺒﻴﺟ
Former names:French Somali Coast (Côte française de Somalie) – until 1967
French Territory of the Afars and Issas (Térritoire française des afars et des issas) – 1967-1977
Bordering countries:Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia (Somaliland)
Status:sovereign state
Surface:22 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):457 ths.
Capital:Djibouti (Djibouti / ﻲﺗﻮﺒﻴﺟ)
Official languages:French, Arabic

National symbols

African Union   League of Arab States

Main index