Name:Mexico (United Mexican States)
Local name (Spanish):México (Estados Unidos Méxicanos)
Bordering countries:United States of America, Guatemala, Belize
Status:sovereign state
Surface:1 972.6 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):104 908 ths.
Capital:Mexico City (Ciudad de México)
Official language:Spanish
Administrative divisions:31 states, 1 federal district

Current national symbols

Administrative divisions and regional symbols

Historical symbols:
Independence war (1810-1821)
1st Empire (1821-1824)
United Mexican States / Mexican Republic (1824-1863)
2nd Empire (1863-1867)
United Mexican States (since 1867)

Ethnic symbols

Organization of American States

Main index