Name:Costa Rica (Republic of Costa Rica)
Local name (Spanish):Costa Rica (República de Costa Rica)
Bordering countries:Nicaragua, Panama
Status:sovereign state
Surface:51.1 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):3 896 ths.
Capital:San José
Official language:Spanish

Current national symbols

Historical symbols:
Province of Costa Rica (1821-1822)
Costa Rica in the Central American Federation (1822-1839)
State of Costa Rica
Republic of Costa Rica (since 1839)

Organization of American States

Main index