Name:Ghana (Republic of Ghana)
Former name:Gold Coast (Gold Coast) – until 1957
Bordering countries:Togo, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast
Status:sovereign state
Surface:238.5 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):20 468 ths.
Official language:English

Current national symbols

Historical symbols:
British Gold Coast (1621-1957)
Dominion (1957-1960) and Republic of Ghana (since 1960)

Ethnic symbols

African Union   The Commonwealth

Main index