Name:Malaysia (Federation of Malaysia)
Local name (Malay):Malaysia (Persekutuan Tanah Malaysia)
Bordering countries:Thailand, Indonesia, Brunei
Status:sovereign state
Surface:329.8 ths. sq. km
Population (2003):23 093 ths.
Capital:current - Kuala Lumpur;
under construction - Putrajaya
Official language:Malay
Administrative divisions:13 states (9 sultanates and 4 governorships), 3 federal territories

Current national symbols

Administrative divisions and regional symbols

Historical symbols
British dependencies in Southeast Asia (1819-1963)
Malaya under British protectorate (1896-1957)
Federation of Malaya (1957-1963)
Federation of Malaysia (since 1963)

ASEAN   The Commonwealth

Main index